Freezer Cooking Breakfasts

I’m making notes on our latest freezer cooking extravaganza. Because everyone else agreed they never want to cook so many different recipes at one time, I’m going to write up breakfast, lunch and dinner separately instead of writing about the whole experience. I actually like having so many different meals in the freezer, but it did take a few days and was pretty frustrating in my small home, so I can sympathize with the other ladies.

The Once a Month Mom Whole Foods March menu included three breakfasts. Jason makes oatmeal with peanut butter for Zuzu and me when he makes his own, so we’ll use these for weekend breakfasts, snacks, and  lunch.

Green Smoothie Bags with Yogurt

Original recipe I was very excited about preparing these to-go smoothies. Having the yogurt frozen makes a big difference in the finished product! I also was able to customize and leave out bananas so my throat didn’t get fuzzy after drinking it. I bought my normal HEB mixed fruit (mango, papaya, and strawberries), plain yogurt, kale, and baby spinach. We froze the yogurt in ice cube trays which brought back fond memories of Zuzu’s baby food. The fruit was already cut and ready to go from the store. Instead of portioning out the greens into baggies, I went ahead and pureed it with some leftover blueberries and froze it in trays. Kate thought it was unbearably green, but Zuzu and I liked it. I also appreciated that the blue masks the green color even if it doesn’t hide the green smell.

Baked Eggs with Bacon and Cheese on English Muffins

Original recipe One of the hazards of cooking many recipes that use the same ingredients is the risk of putting all the bacon in the soup instead of saving some for the baked eggs. Luckily, I’d already thawed and fried some sausage from my dad. Not much to say about baked eggs other than they are tasty.

English Muffins Someone once told me that the reason I don’t like English muffins is I’d only ever had the packaged kind. Since we’ve already eaten all the ones I made from scratch, I think she might have been on to something.

I was surprised at how well the sandwiches froze and reheated. I will definitely be making these again, probably soon!

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Original recipe Yet another failed attempt at granola bars. I should have read the comments for the warning that they crumble. Not really a problem since I like eating granola, but difficult to feed the crumblies to the kids. We’ll go with Jaclyn’s proven recipe next time.


  1. rachel said,

    April 11, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    These are great tips! I am always so impressed by people who do once-a-month cooking. With the smoothies, I leave out kale and do extra baby spinach. Kale is way too strong sometimes, but spinach seems much more tolerable. But that’s just me. If you can enjoy it, by all means, go for it!

  2. April 11, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I wouldn’t have done it if I didn’t have help! We had to buy a crazy amount of greens for all the recipes. We got baby spinach for the smoothies, but I also had leftover kale that I didn’t want to go to waste. It’s a good thing Zuzu and I aren’t picky eaters.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

