Thanks, Dustin, for asking about this. I’ve been meaning to write a post about it, but not sure if anyone would be interested.

Back when I started using cloth diapers, I followed the rules pretty closely. Cotton Babies, the brand of cloth diapers I use, discourages using detergents containing pure soap, enzymes, fabric whiteners, fabric brighteners, fabric softeners or anything scented. The reason for this prohibition is that, over time, these additives build up in the diapers and cause them to become less absorbent. Since absorbing liquid is the whole point of a diaper, it’s worthwhile to find a detergent that doesn’t build up. These rules pretty much knocks out all the brands available at the grocery store. There are “safe” brands available locally at Cloud 9 Baby. I tried several of them and thought they worked well, but they all cost about 18 cents a load which adds up with at least a load a day. My mom had told me that a cousin made her own detergent, and I had read that it was safe for diapers, so I decided to do that one time and see if it was worth the time for the money saved.

A little Googling, and I came up with a few options for homemade laundry detergent. They are all about the same, but I referred to The Diaper Jungle.  If you prefer liquid to powder, there are other recipes that involve cooking the soap, but I like saving a few steps and not having drips.

It’s not thrilling to save money on laundry detergent, but it’s a penny economy that I enjoy. I also like not itching in my clothes because of the perfumes or feeling badly about harming the water supply with additives, but those benefits are secondary. A benefit that isn’t secondary is how impressed Jason is that I make our detergent. I might even let him think that it’s harder than it really is for more wifey points.

Aside: My friend, Fallon, is also a big researcher. She decided to use store-bought detergent with as few additives as she could find and strip her diapers occasionally. Her diapers work fine and it still comes out cheaper than the diaper-specific brands. Just another option if you don’t like the idea of making your own.

Powdered Laundry Detergent

Supplies needed

  • Food processor*
  • Measuring cup for soap-making day
  • Large container for finished powder
  • Tablespoon for measuring the finished product

Ingredient Proportions

  • 1 Bar Zote Soap
  • 1 Cup Washing Soda
  • 1 Cup Borax

Directions

  1. Set up food processor with blades in the bowl and the grating disk.
  2. Put 1 cup washing soda and 1 cup Borax in food processor bowl.
  3. Feed bar of soap through feeding tube.
  4. Run the food processor for about 30 seconds after the soap is added to get everything well mixed.
  5. Empty bowl into container.

Use

  • For normal load, use 1 tablespoon.
  • For diapers, I use 1/2 tablespoon in the rinse and a heaping 1/2 tablespoon in the wash cycle.
  • Add a tad for large or extra dirty loads.

It doesn’t take much time or effort to make a single batch, but to make it really worthwhile, I make at least two batches at once. I can almost fill up my 2-quart plastic container with two batches which will wash about 120 loads. It takes me less than ten minutes from start to finish and the counters are really clean when I’m done because of the soap. To save a few seconds, I wrote the proportions on the container with a permanent marker so I didn’t have to look it up each time.

There are other options for the bar soap, but Zote is available at the dollar store in walking distance of my apartment, so that’s what I use. Neither is available at HEB, so I  make a special trip to get it and stock up. I’m not sure if these soaps count as pure soaps so every once in a while, I strip my diapers using vinegar in the rinse to remove any residues just in case.

*This could be done with a hand grater and hand mixing. I like the food processor because it’s faster and coating the soap with powder seems to help keep it from separating in the container.

Notice the correct use of “it’s,” Mom. Please don’t tell me if I made other grammar mistakes. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. I should have saved this comment for this post, but got sidetracked/confused because I read several of your posts at the same time. Regardless, here’s my $0.02.

    On the laundry detergent topic: For those of you considering making your own detergent – Several of us here at camp made our own detergent for about a year (the liquid/gel type) and really loved it at the beginning. We found, over time, that it lost its ability to get clothes really clean and have since all gone back to store bought detergent. We think our water had a lot to do with it as we live in the country, so our water is often gross and dirty, and several of the families are dealing with extremely dirty, muddy kids’ clothes (we are surrounded by red clay – it doesn’t come out of anything!). I know Elaine hasn’t had this issue with her diapers and she has been making homemade detergent for a long time, so it may be the difference between the powder and the liquid. We were disappointed that we couldn’t get it to work well because it was saving us a lot of money per load. If any of you have ever tried it and have had this same issue, please let me know if you found a good remedy.

    1. I’ve read that some people add a little oxyclean every few loads to boost the cleaning power. I don’t know how much extra that would cost, but it would probably work out cheaper and would mean fewer trips to the store.

Let me know what you think!