As I was choosing books for my 5×5 categories, I wanted to read several books by Christian African American authors I respected. I had gotten Unashamed as a monthly freebie from Christian Audio, Carved in Ebony on sale from ChristianAudio for Black history month, and Gay Girl, Good God was available from the Houston Public Library. (All Texans with library cards can check out from Houston’s digital collection!) Carved in Ebony has profiles of several African American Christian women. I’m stretching my category to include it because Jasmine Holmes reflected on her own writing process and history as she discussed the different women. I was going to add two theology books (Holier Than Thou by Jackie Hill Perry and Enjoy by Trillia Newbell), but I am really loving hearing people share their own stories, so I decided to bump those to my broad Christian category and find a couple more memoirs on audio to round out this category.

I was holding out on reading All My Knotted-Up Life because I knew enough of Beth Moore’s story to know it would be a hard read, but my aunt highly recommend I read it. It’s in high demand right now, so it was quite the wait time, but I eventually got it.

What should I read for my final book in my Christian Memoir on Audio category? I’m considering For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay, but I’m not sure if it would count as a memoir even if I’m being generous. When I finish the fifth book, I’ll write up my thoughts and unexpected themes I saw across the titles.

Unashamed by Lecrae

Carved in Ebony by Jasmine Holmes

Gay Girl, Good God by Jackie Hill Perry

All My Knotted-Up Life by Beth Moore

Let me know what you think!