Bright Valley of Love by Edna Hong for AmblesideOnline Year 7. The blurb on the cover does this book a disservice. Very little of the book deals with the Nazis or at least not in the way I think of other Holocaust literature. The story dealt with bigger themes of the value of all human life and vocation. This book encouraged me to do my work well!

Howards End by E. M. Forster with The Literary Life Podcast. I feel like talking about it too much would involve spoilers, so I’ll just say it’s a beautiful book that’s well worth reading. Angelina and Thomas helped me notice things I would have missed.

King Lear by William Shakespeare for AmblesideOnline’s rotation. I listened to the play myself, and now I’m leading our micro class through the play. I’m also listening to Kelly Cumbee’s webinar through House of Humane Letters. I was surprised by the redemptive resolution of this tragedy. It didn’t feel as pointless as I remember Hamlet feeling in high school, although I’m fairly certain Hamlet won’t hit me the same way when I get around to reading it again.

The Story of the Champions of the Round Table by Howard Pyle, third book in his Round Table quartet. Listened with my Audible subscription. This book included some of stories of Lancelot, Tristam, and Percival. I didn’t like Lancelot or Tristam, but the stories were entertaining. I’m interested in learning more about Percival. (Sadly, the next book starts with Lancelot. I look forward to moving on to someone else.)

Let me know what you think!